BBC Introducing Artist” - BBC Radio 3 - In Tune

BBC Sounds


To be released 19 August 2022.

Dive in to the debut album from J R Coote (preview at the link below).

In Waterways, J R Coote creates a unique sound-world inspired by the great springs of Renaissance Lute Music, whose melodies echo down the generations, the far-flung shores of Spanish Flamenco guitar and the great waves of English folk music. 


1. Shores

2. Strength to Remain

3. Branches

4. Hourglass

5. Lyonesse

6. Buried

7. Time Stands Still

8. Springs

Featuring: Jonathan Coote (Guitar and Vocals) and Tristan Butler (Percussion)

Recorded: Crown Lane Studios Morden

Album Artwork: Sophie Cook

Gosh, your music is very good” - Adrian McNally (The Unthanks)


Press Photos


J R Coote is a guitarist and singer based in Sevenoaks, Kent. Originally from Oxford, he has studied music at the University of Cambridge and King's College London. His music draws on inspiration from folk, flamenco and renaissance lute music. 

Jonathan has performed: at the Aldeburgh Festival, in King's College Chapel, Cambridge, for the Brazilian Ambassador to the UK at his residence, at the Brazilian embassy, at Mount Vineyard, Kent, at the Cambridge Union (in Drag troupe Denim), in bars in Seville and more... 

He has been featured on BBC Radio 3's 'In Tune' as a BBC Introducing Artist, when his piece for classical guitar 'Kerswell Springs' was broadcast in November 2021.